Not seeing a Scroll to Top Button? Go to our FAQ page for more info.

2016-05-21     10:18:55pm

Mariners outclassed Aizawl FC in the finals of the Federation Cup to lay their hands on the trophy for the fourteenth time.


Mohun Bagan crowned as the new Federation Cup champions as Mariners defeated Aizawl FC 5-0 in Guwahati on Saturday.



Sanjoy Sen fielded his strongest eleven passing his intention clearly while Jahar Das fielded his four foreigners in the absence of play maker David.



Mohun Bagan created the move early with Katsumi and Glen combined a good play before placing the ball for Sony who rolled the ball for Jeje whose shot was blocked by Aizawl defender.



Aizawl FC started creating move and Sunday´s shot from Lalmuankima´s cross missed the post by inches.



Both sides tested each other but failed to change the score line at the end of first session.



Mohun Bagan kicked of the second half with a bang as Norde broke the deadlock in the 48th minutes after Bikramjit´s long cross was chested down by Jeje to roll it for Sony to slot the ball in.




Ten minutes later Katsumi´s corner found Dhanachandra´s powerful header to go straight into the net giving no chance to Poirei.




There was no looking back for Mohun Bagan as national striker Jeje scored the third for Mariners in the 73rd minute when Glen back heel pass took Jeje´s effort into the net making Aizawl FC shocked.




In the 82nd minute Sony made a fine run down the left before crossing the low cross for unmarked Bikramjit Singh who slotted the ball into an empty net.



Red showed some resistance in the dying minute calling Debjit in action that made a couple brilliant save.



Jeje sealed the deal for Green and Maroon brigade in the 88th minute as Mullick left wing low cross found Lalpekhlua standing in front of the ball to tap the ball in.



With this win, the Mariners have ensured that they do not end their season trophy less.